2004-09-09 & 00:27 : -

today was another completely fucking awesome day.

i woke up early and went to the salon and got my hair cut, and i love it.

curls and soft and it's always such a nice experience when i am there. i think i must look really different and there might be something to this glowing stuff, because my stylist said, "what are you doing to your skin?!" and i said, "what?" and she said, "whatever you're doing, it's amazing, you're skin is glowing, you look amazing" and i was like, "what?"

and when i left the receptionist stopped me to tell me i looked beautiful.

what?

you can see why i love the place. i think i will get a facial next week, or maybe a massage, pick up some make up, because lately i have been wanting to put on make-up.

after the salon i went to the thai restaurant and gave the boy the letter. letter wrapped in a picture, wrapped in rice paper, slipped into a vellum envelope. from the outside the different layers reminded me of a rothko painting.

it was really busy when i went in, and he greeted me with a big smile and a "jessica, hi!" and then went to grab a menu for me, but i stopped him and told him i wasn't there to eat, but to give him something.

i handed him the letter and he gave me another big smile, and thanked me. and i gave him a big smile and welcomed him.

and then i left, because he was busy, you know?

but on the way back to my car three different people said hello to me. on the way TO the restaurant from my car a man came out of a store to say hello to me and then went back in.

i don't know what exactly is going on, but i don't mind.

i used to feel invisible.

these days, not so much.

maybe, when you make a decision to be brave, things just kinda start going your way.

we'll see.

i came home and spent the day kind of puttering around, talking on the phone and the computer, watching queer eye twice (yay for british and american versions on the same day) and cleaned the main room of my studio. i even mopped!

tomorrow, i detail clean the kitchen and the bathroom, and maybe shine my floor with lemon juice and olive oil. i hear that works fantastic for wood floors.

i need a new mop though. it might have to wait til next week.

but everything's clean and i'm walking around barefoot without feeling dirty, and my candles are burning and also my cherry blossom incense, and my apartment smells amazing.

2 weeks now without a cigarette, and i'm starting to be able to smell things again.

interesting, that.