2002-08-30 & 5:47 p.m. : a little bit irish

when i came in today, there was a card from my sweet co-worker who asks me on movie dates, a big cookie from georgette and everybody asking me how i was doing.

apparently yesterday it was really clear that i had a bad bad day.

i was really touched by their care, i have never worked for a place where people even really paid attention to that sort of thing. not since entering corporate america anyhow.

but then, after lunch, i received delivered flowers in a beautiful vase, with a card from the big boss and all my co-workers urging me to hang in there and not to let the present circumstances get me down.

can you believe that?

i was overcome, i almost started crying.

the thing is, it's amazing that these people, who are pretty much strangers, care so much that i am happy with them, working with them, being on their team. the fact that they are concerned with whether or not i am happy when i am away from work...well, it's overwhelming and sweet.

if i didn't have such a great job, i would be very regretful about moving to iowa.

but now i have a hard time imagining leaving, even though the pay is so rough, because i can't imagine finding a work environment better than this.

even though so many other things right now are twisting me up, i am very lucky.

and i'm really glad that i am being reminded of it.

in other news, i have spent all day at dodge.com building my own intrepid. this car is so wicked sweet. SERIOUSLY.

now if i can only get together an extra $350 a month to pay for it.