2002-04-18 & 3:26 p.m. : all the x's have wings

knowing that i have an hour and a half left in my workday, and that i have not received a single work-related email requesting that i do a single bit of anything this entire day, i figured i had better type something to look busy as i don't want any early pink slips, if you're pickin' up what i'm puttin' down.

not that i am too worried about that, but how many times can i do the "oooh, i was working so hard i'm just going to do this here big stretch" move or the "whoah, the notebook on my right is REALLY INTERESTING" move or the "hey, let's look at this email about renewal rates from 4 days ago, AGAIN" move everytime New Boss stops her hallishing and complaining long enough to walk past my cube for some reason?

well, it seems my limit is 14000, daily.

so here i am, ahem, glad to meet you.

i am trying really hard to not write about my lunch, but i've got nothin', so i am going for all i can: to keep it brief, let's just say that the wait-staff at your average fast foodery is becoming more jackassian as the days and years go by, friends. "no tomatoes" does not me 6 tomatoes neatly tucked away amongst the shredded cheese and lettuce, nor does 'please give me a normal sized cup of unsweetened iced, i don't want the huge traveler's [WHOAH NEW BOSS JUST CAME OVER TO MY DESK TO ASK HOW MUCH MY JOB PAYS, FREAKY AND WEIRD. and WEIRD. not really, i'm sure everyone's looking for my replacement, but like, STOP LOOKING AT ME WITH THOSE FREAKY EYES WHEN YOU WHISPER TO ME LIKE THAT. there's something about the way she talks and types and breathes and exists that makes me want to scream for the rest of my life.

jesus--maybe she's an animated Real Doll.

EVERYTHING IS MAKING SENSE.] cup" mean i want the smallest cup possible with puke-inducing raspberry or peach or something grody flavored iced tea.

who thought of this flavored iced tea business? i can barely handle arnold palmers and those have lemonade in them for christ's sake.

everybody knows how much i like lemonade!

crap, i'm writing a lot about my lunch, aren't i?

hell's bells.

speaking of, i think New Boss has installed AIM on her computer. isn't that funny? she just randomly giggles and laughs during hour-long smarmy acrylic nail to keyboard fests. i know the what's what.

i wonder who she is talking to? i wonder what not-at-all-cute-or-flattering nickname she uses for me?

i wonder if i am the only one in this office childish enough to do such things.

probably.

go me. fighting off old age and maturity at every turn, with pride.

in other news, i went to my dr's appt today at my lunch and had a bit of a nervous breakdown in the examination room while i waited for her to come in and see me. i just started thinking of all these scary what-if's that could possibly be happening with my body and i drifted off into a panic-stricken land usually reserved for nights spent looking up random symptoms on webmd.com

yeah, it was pretty bad. within 5 minutes i had turned myself into a possibly infertile cancer patient who had just gone through a mastectomy and whom will never grow her hair back.

so basically, i freaked myself into the waterworks.

it felt good, though. i haven't cried in i don't know how long, and it was just a couple of tears slip slidin' their way down my cheeks, no big production.

by the time my doctor came in i was all dry again, no harm no foul.

well, it looks like i need to go type up some labels, no rest for the wicked (awesome), apparently.

helium is really good. at least the dirt of luck and a couple songs off pirate prude. but mary timony believes in fairies and probably spells it "faeries", so i don't know.