2002-01-25 & 12:12 a.m. : completely unbelievable

once a man wrote me a letter and told me that talking to me was like throwing big fistfuls of paint onto a perfect white canvas

and that when i talked i wrapped myself around my vowels in the most interesting ways

and that knowing me was the gravity that kept him right-side-up in his turned up-side-down world

and that listening to me laugh was like being at home

and that reading my letters was like tracing the lines of the perfect map.

can you believe that?

when i think about it, i can hardly believe it.

if i didn't read it myself, and if i didn't hear it with my own ears, i wouldn't believe it.

i don't know where that letter is now, and i haven't heard that voice for so long, i don't know that i'd recognize it if i did.

i find this totally amazing. completely unbelievable.