2001-07-12 & 8:46 a.m. : self-obsessed and sexxee all the way

prompted by this guy's diary, i think, perhaps i should mention something:

i think that personality tests/psychology tests are bunkum. what? that's right, bunkum (now, picture me saying that as i stamp my foot; now picture me as this guy stamping my foot and saying it. there. you have the right idea now.).

more than that, they are horse pucky.

look: the human psyche is far more complex than a short list of yes or no questions can flesh out. do i think that people who are taken advantage of are weak and deserve what they get? sometimes. am i a heartless snatch that cannot empathize with someone down on their luck? no. do i have a hard time relating to my peers? sometimes. does that mean i can't connect with people? hardly. is my behavior considered "eccentric" by others? sometimes. but anyone that thinks critically about things that most people take for granted are considered "eccentric". HELLO, I HAVE MY DEGREE IN PHILOSOPHY. it's my JOB, in the grand sweeping life's work sense of "job", to think deeply about things that most people are smart enough to let slide. am i like Crooked Finger from Antonia's Line? no.

all i'm saying here is this--while i will take personality/psychology tests because i am self-obsessed (and sexxee) and i cannot get enough of this virtually endlessly entertaining show called me (how's that for narcissism, eh?) i don't put any stock in them. [except for that one test that said my inner rockstar was bjork. that was pretty fucking sweet. i wish, though, that my inner "rock"star was jordan knight. that way i'd get all the tail.]

i don't put any stock in them because i'm more than that. i'm more than narcissistic, you're more than bordeline, she's more than avoidant, he's more than schizoid.

i don't know what i am trying to say here.

actually, i do:

fuck that test. fuck it right in the ear.