2004-08-05 & 3:11 p.m. : get better

for reasons that i don't really need to go into, i just want to re-iterate that i am fine.

my father going into the hospital will mean some really positive changes for him and my mom.

so it's a good thing!!!

i went out to the bar last night and had a blast, as usual. everyone there is really nice to me. the bartenders love me (thank you jon and niki for being bartenders because now i know how to be an excellent patron), the regulars are supersweet to me and the freaky doorman came over and sat with us even though it was his day off. he likes me, I CAN TELL. but he's gay. but that's ok because i don't wany any of that mess, so long as he keeps freaking me. which he will.

more evidence melia is the perfect cat for me: i looked at her lazy ass sleepily yawning on the uglybeautiful green chair and i did something i haven't done in weeks--i pulled up the blinds and the sun came pouring in and said "here's the outside if you want it, minty bean" and she just kinda rubbed her nose with her paw and went to sleep.

yay!

then, i put on deee-lite and started dancing, even though the blinds are open.

i'm singing too.

people in my life are happy and i'm happy too.

things get better all the time.

oh, my brother's spinning (his own gig!) somewhere in san francisco tonight, so if you get a chance, find him and listen. he's the awesome.

ps--i saw amish in the city last night for the first time and i hated it, but i couldn't help reflect that somewhere in the world there's a lauren who is glued to the set watching, and she's loving every minute of it. rather than make me sad, that made me really happy.