2001-07-09 & 9:39 a.m. : it's the fashion self informed versus ms. navy-blue-and-black

so, last night i am sitting on the porch with jon, and we're talking and smoking cigarettes and listening to the trains and i start complaining about how i have to go to work this morning.

(it was 1 ay em)

and then i realized that no matter what i do sunday night, or how late i stay up (and i do stay up late. it's a side effect of my strict 2-naps-per-day weekend regimen), i always wake up monday morning feeling great and smiling and all energetic.

this, dear friend, should not be the case. you have tried enough times to wake me up early to know how good i am in the morning. you might as well tickle me (did that bruise ever go away?).

i am seriously a terrible person in the morning, eveyone knows that.

but monday mornings...i am hopping around the kitchen with stuart, i am looking through the window at the backyard, i am humming and singing. all before 7 am.

what the hell is that?

this morning on my way to work, i was listening to
and i was following along with the handclaps. THE HANDCLAPS. now, i love me some well placed handclaps, and this band sure knows how to place a handclap, but i'm just not a clapping girl. and there i was, driving through the mountains on my way to work, sunglasses on, lips red for the fun of it, vanilla cigarette dangling from red lips and hands clapping like it was the most fun thing since banging your hips against a stage.

and it was.

that's not to say that this good mood and seemingly boundless energy is, indeed, boundless. for instance, everytime i have to re-adjust my broken chair because it keeps sliding down, forcing my wrists into a carpal-tunnel inducing position, and pushing my knees against the top of my desk, my mood dampens. everytime i have to hear the Co-Worker sing country (and not good country like patsy cline or johnny cash. not even willie nelson or dolly parton. oh no, we're talking new country here people. new country), or talk about how "totally hammered, jessica. we were TOTALLY hammered" he got this weekend, a small part of me dies. everytime i look at the clock and it's moved but 8 steps closer to the end of my day even though it has felt like 30, my head starts to hang a little lower.

but, i shall keep listening to them and everything should be smooth for at least the next hour or two.

(photos by shawn brackbill)

-we'll sleep on ice when this bed is on fire. we'll sleep all nice but instead of retire, we'll kick those lights out. this party is on fire. we'll kick these lights out. your party is on fire.-