2002-12-14 & 10:42 p.m. : hey, that's no way to say goodbye

what a great night, the christmas party at a fancy hotel in town. open bar for a few hours and then cash bar. mediocre food. really good iced tea.

seeing my co-workers drunk and happy and smiling and yelling and laughing laughing laughing.

it made me immeasurably happy to see everyone dance, ecstatic, not sexy at all, like children.

they kept trying to pull me on the dancefloor but as you know i am a bedroom dancer only. it would have made me nervous and self-conscious to go out there.

but i felt happiness almost to tears watching them, normal people, ugly people, beautiful people, shaking and shimmying and turning circles like autistic angels.

a free cab ride home from a drunk cab driver with tuberculosis coughing.

i gave her a large tip for her trouble even though i almost died twice on the 10 minute drive.

i walked into my apartment and leonard cohen was playing on the stereo.

everyone, they were so beautiful.