2002-10-18 & 4:38 p.m. : i go away

last night i had a dream that by switching socks with my brother three times, we gave each other amazing, alien athlete's foot.

like, the kind where it eats the soles of your feet and you are left with little holes there.

to be clear, i have never had this kind of athletes foot. or really any athlete's foot. my skin misfortune is the true desert-like dryness of my scalp, which i keep in check with the help of aveda. thank you aveda!!

anway, we would trade socks back and forth, and then put our feet together in an action that is akin to the wonder-twins power tap. then we would both walk around uncomfortably.

it was pretty gross.

today is a good day because i got the door handle for my car fixed. no more climbing across to from the passenger side of the car.

if you have never done this, you cannot imagine what a pain in the ass it is.

i am keeping my head up despite the fact that our systems have gone down like 109874509837453 times today. literally. you can't imagine how stoked people are to be told that they need to call back.

please stop yelling at me.

bad news: i have a wicked spider bite on my stomach right along my waistline, so my pants are rubbing it and it hurts.

good news: the temperature is like, in the sixties!

at least, that's what they say.

i like how i am obsessed with the weather now. there's really not much else going on in my life at the moment. just waiting for the word from jon so that i can write my letter to my landlord and set up an appt with the movers.

but while i'm waiting, that's about it.

there's a lot of stuff going on in here, but i can't do anything about it so i am spending my nights smoking cigarettes and playng backgammon and listening to music and waiting waiting waiting.

so many things that make no sense and hurt so much and there's nothing i can do and pretty much it just sucks.

but i look ahead, i keep my chin up, i smoke my cigarettes and play my backgammon games.

and, pretty much, in less than 6 weeks, i will be across the country. again.

this life? you have to be fluid, or else you'll crack and fall apart like a hot glass under a cold faucet.