2002-12-04 & 6:02 p.m. : i looked over to the left

you know your work place is pretty tight when they rock "golden years" by david bowie and "livin' in the city" by stevie wonder on the hold music.

today, i won an award at work for having the raddest customer service telephone skills on the planet, i mean the department. how hot is that for the rookie? an award! with a trophy!

and a $10 gift card to chili's! that i will never ever use! because who the hell wants to go to chili's??

but still, it's nice to be recognized for my complete and total awesomeosity. a nice diversion from downtown stressville, population me. everything is coming up so soon, and also my brother has hit on bad bad financial times, so the stress flows freely between us on nightly calls.

he just sounds so sad, it's breaking my heart.

but the family is pulling together, my sister is helping with the plane ticket for him to come help me move, my mom's helping him (and me, eternally. i can't wait til i am a real adult) keep the bills under somewhat control and he, of course, is going to help me move.

i am starting to collect candy canes. them shits is gross.

today's mix (for todd):

substitute for love: madonna

she cries your name: beth orton

oops: tweet

slim: alpha

blonde: patti guesh

an echo a stain: bjork

strugglin': tricky

anything: arto lindsay

caroline: mc solaar

the man who sold the world: david bowie with nin

stagger: underworld

cocoon: bjork

yes, i am lonely: vincent gallo

trouble so hard: vera hall

distorted angel (tricky remix): elvis costello

solitude: nina simone

and that's my life!