2002-09-02 & 5:10 p.m. : but it wouldn't be anything without a woman or a girl

there's a very fine cut that runs from the outer point of my left eyebrow, down past my eye and onto the apple of my left cheek. it's courtesy your favorite cat and mine, stuart. it's been there for almost a week and i wonder if it will ever fully heal. now, it's not something you can see so much as feel, so if it stays there forever only myself and few others will ever know it's there.

people, in general, do not try to touch my face and if they did my instinct would almost certainly be to pull away (other than certain obvious situations).

it will be a secret wound, one of many, but made special by the fact that it is material and another person can feel it too.

i like the thought of stuart watching me when i am sleeping, an idea that could be creepy if it weren't for the fact that i know the smile he has when he is watching something intently. he has the same smile when i pull up the blinds and open the window and he watches the pigeons that are always walking around on the rooftops below my window.

i imagine he was just watching my eye move and made a swipe to catch an eyelash.

i really can't fault him for that.

i slept for a lot of the afternoon, inadvertantly missing a chance to see the invisible ink and hers. i felt terrible when i woke up and got her message, but i feel gross and really the only thing i want to do right now is sit here listening to the ten minute live version of "it's a man's world" by james brown, slowly sip on water while i watch the cars on the interstate and wait for the grey sky to go dark, the perfect ending to my solitary but calm holiday weekend.