2001-09-27 & 2:12 p.m. : josephine

today, i set aside all the history i have been listening to lately and concentrate on

portastatic.

mac, i love you so much, i think i may burst.

you cover bossanova classics. you have the softest sweetest voice ever. you punched out that drunk guy when he pushed laura that time i saw you guys play at the underground in santa barbara. you're the smallest little wonder in corduroy pants i have ever seen.

i love you.

boys? if you ever want to make a girl fall head over heels for you, you should write her a song like "josephine". hell, just put it on a mix tape.

if anyone were ever to write something like this for me...well, i suppose it's embarrassing to daydream about such things, and it probably doesn't make sense if you've never heard the song, but i would marry them. [nod]

if i were napoleon, you could be my josephine
we could go to drive-in films
in my red convertible

if i were napoleon, i might be in magazines
i'd write some science fiction
science fiction about you

you could be my josephine
just you and your chaperone
let you be my josephine

if i were napoleon, you could be my lady love
look into my soft blue eyes
run your fingers through my hair

if i were napoleon, you could be my turtle dove
living out in corsica
in our summer cottages

and you could be mine
josephine

we could be siamese twins

let you be my josephine