2001-09-26 & 3:07 p.m. : drove my chevy to the levee but the levee was dry

for the last two days i have worked hard and made an effort to be congenial and personable with my co-workers. even, the Co-Worker.

see? i am trying to be an adult.

also, it's really lonely to be in a cube all day with no peers, talking to no one. so, i am trying to play nice nice with my higher-ups. which now include the Co-Worker. that would make the total 4 bosses and me. that's it for our dept. 4 bosses. me.

yeah.

they are all planning this big business dinner thingie with tons of schmoozing and junk. an 'all-american bash', which i think might be required since we work with labor unions. lots of flags wave in this office.

so, the Co-Worker, to whom i will now sometimes refer to as 4th Boss, as if this were the joy luck club and i were talking about wives, asked me to help him suggest some music for the 'all american bash' since all he listens to is new country and linkin park.

so, here are the songs i suggested, imagining a bunch of 40 something intoxicated people, walking around talking to each other, kind of drunkenly dancing and laughing too loud. i like some of these songs, and some of them i don't. either way, it had to do with music, so this task was alright:

'american pie' don mclean (i love this song, it makes me think of pip's grill in my hometown. i freaking love that place)
'proud mary' ike & tina turner (you know how i feel about tina)
'like a rolling stone' bob dylan (this makes me think of a hitchhiking trip across the country)
'me & bobby mcgee' janis joplin (i never realized she had such a pretty voice)
'fortunate son' creedence clearwater revival (my brother loves ccr)
'respect' aretha franklin (i would have rather picked one of her blues interpretations, but these are BUSINESS PEOPLE we are talking about here)
'born to be wild' steppenwolf (it's just rock stuff, you know?)
'foxy lady' jimi hendrix (this song is sexy. the old people can get it on)
'satisfaction' rolling stones (who doesn't like the rolling stones?)
'takin' care of business' bachman-turner overdrive (hahahaha, overdrive hahahahah)
'one way or another' blondie (i put this one in for my best friend, because she would be able to appreciate it if she went. but she's not gonna. hell, i'm not gonna.)
'you shook me all night long' ac/dc (this is for the younger business people, who are drinking beer)
'hound dog' elvis (this is for 2nd Boss because she just brought me back an elvis matchbook from graceland)
'son of a preacher man' dusty springfield (this one's for me)
'sweet home alabama' lynyrd skynyrd (this one is so nasty, but again, american bash, etc etc)
'over the hills and far away' led zeppelin (more rock und roll)
'9 to 5' dolly parton (this one is for me too. oh man, is it)
'more than a feeling' boston (hahaha, i love this song. if i thought i could get away with something by journey, i would have. ah, i giggle)
'wild thing' the troggs (i wish i could have put the one by x)
'soul man' sam & dave (if i thought i could have, i would have put tons more soul)
'good vibrations' beach boys (i dunno...60s junk)
'crazy little thing called love' queen (freddy mercury por vida)
'dance to the music' sly & the family stone (just to switch it up a bit)
'no particular place to go' chuck berry (you cannot deny this man, even though he was a fecalphilliac)
'mony mony' tommy james and the shondells (i hate this song)

i was so proud of this list, even though it caused 4th Boss to sing 'american pie' with a super special country twang for like...2 hours.

you know something else i learned today? it's really easy to get on the Co-Worker's good side if you know how to tell a good dick joke. and boy, do i.

so, today has gone along swimmingly. at least here.

my brother is in some crazy turmoil having to do with goverment agencies and international travel, but i am keeping positive, even though he drove out here to search through my car for an official document that he needs to get another official document so that he can accompany my dad to the place where my family lived before world war two.

so, if any of you believe in god, pray my brother finds his driver's license. because he can't get his passport without it. and, aside from the fact that my father and my brother have been looking forward to spending this time together working through family history, my father is disabled and really needs my brother's help to make the pilgrimage this year.

so, please, pray.

for my part, i bought my brother a hearty vietnamese lunch and tried to reassure him. but my stomach was turning and in knots because i don't want my brother to have to tell my dad that he can't go on the trip because he is a jackass and i don't want my dad to have to struggle alone while travelling in europe.

ok! i think that might be it. i have some work to do, but before that i have to visit the little office bitch's room so i can wash my face. i feel grimy from all this schmoozing.

oh! lastly, best friend, last night you were wonderful. as were you and you. it's rare that i go from broken to all better in 60 seconds flat, but really, you three were like charlies angels last night.

except, you know, without the feathered hair.