2001-12-12 & 12:29 a.m. : lonely

our screen door was blown off by a storm

it never fit the door frame, it was too big, and it was hung sideways

there was a tear in the bottom corner, and its handle was worn and ineffectual

but now the door looks naked, and ill-at-ease

it's deepset, lonely

and the shadows on it look like a frown

these things were hidden by that crooked too big screen

i feel like my screen door is blown wide open, slamming back and forth with the force of a strong and frightening wind

and though it doesn't fit the frame right, it hides my frowning shadows and my deepset inside, my scratched and feverish lonely

and my hands can't cover my nakedness fast enough or shield the raw parts of me from that wind

i'm being laid bare, and the coldness of it hurts and bites like ice on morning fingers