2001-08-10 & 1:11 a.m. : green grass, red tree

it's so late and i should have been in bed hours ago.

and i was brushing my teeth, entering the final minutes before i lay down for sleep. it hit me so fast, i didn't even see it coming.

and now i am sad and nostalgic for someone i haven't even met yet, whose name i don't know, whose fingertips i've not pressed mine against.

i don't know what they smell like, or the perfect timbre of their voice or what it's like to feel the pressure of them leaning against me. i don't know how my face fits into their neck, or their lips into my palm.

i don't know what it sounds like to hear my name fall from their lips.

the sadness of this is so strong, i can taste it; it's making me bite my lip over and over and i am aching for the soft morning sun of autumn for some reason.

the coolness of the morning with the warmth of the sun coming through my window.

come september it will be my first autumn here. i hope the light comes through the curtains just right.

i don't know that my life can take much more sentimental heartbreak.

i'm going to wrap myself in my sheets and wait for the morning to come.