2002-05-16 & 1:51 a.m. : portraiture for the beginner.

i saw lightening bugs for the first time in my life tonight.

i live right next to train tracks, so i count myself lucky.

we have a fire pit in back, and there is a rusting out car where a kitten lives.

bats fly around at night, and today it rained and was sunny within an hour.

people here are friendly in a way i don't understand but that my brother loves.

everything feels strange, far away, lonely, and on hold.

i just need to find a job and my own place and i will feel whole again.

i am glad to be here, but i anticipate the isolation to be great.

i will have to learn to be quietly with myself easily, i will have to learn to draw my own portrait with my eyes closed.


in other news, my brother has started a diary. nothing much going yet, because we just started designing it tonight, but when he has time, i know he will rock it this way and that. in addition to being a wicked good artist, he can write to boot.

do the charms of this bloodline ever end? i don't think so.