2003-12-31 & 1:25 a.m. : prettiest prettiest

well fuck me and call me henry, it fucking snowed tonight.

snowed.

!!!!!!!!! A LOT !!!!!!!!

well, at least to me it's a lot. snailo will laugh her colorado growin' up ass off, but there it is.

when i left work tonight, it was SNOWING. big fat beautiful flakes. they got all over me. and i stepped in the perfect white blanket and discovered my shoes are HUGEMONGOUS.

i used my closed umbrella to push the two inches of snow off my windshield and windows and sat in my car and let it heat up while i talked to my brother on the phone.

then i had to face the inevitable: i had to actually DRIVE IN THE FUCKING SNOW.

FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE.

ALONE. AT NIGHT TOO.

fuck, did it suck.

first, i couldn't get hang of my car sliding a bit, but thankfully/scarily, the parking lot was empty. then, when i was leaving the parking lot, i slid into the street. thankfully/scarily, the street was empty.

then i had to get on the freeway.

that was me rocking 35 miles an hour on i-90, sitting straight up, gripping the wheel till i was whiteknuckled, listening to the second mix that the luau girl gave me, trying not to slide off the road because

HOLY CRAP IT WAS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL THING I HAVE EVER SEEN.

so, i make it into the city, and it's the most radical thing i have ever seen.

people were out, at like midnight, taking pictures and throwing snowballs.

IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREETS OF SEATTLE.

and at the qfc, there were latino boys taking pictures next to their car and laughing and throwing snow at each other.

and then when i got home i could barely get up the drive, but i powered through somehow.

and stuart, poor little bean!, gave me mad lovin' when i came into the house because i let him in out of the snow.

and big huge flakes of snow in dark curly hair is one of the prettiest things i have ever seen.

YOU ALL SHOULD SEE ME IN THE SNOW. I AM PRETTY.

and big huge flakes of snow all over everything is about the prettiest prettiest thing i have ever seen.

i am scared to drive in it, but so happy about it.

and next year, when i am not in a basement apt, i will be able to watch from my window and be HAPPY with hot cocoa and my cat, and maybe something pretty on the stereo.

winter! yeah!