2003-02-03 & 9:40 p.m. : but that's ok, there's treasure children always seek to find. and just like us, you must have had a once upon a time.

dear reductio.dland.com,

because of the title of your entry i am not sure if you are serious about what you wrote. i am often VERY dense about that sort of thing. i often, even in conversation, miss subtle cues that everyone else seems to get, leaving me feeling silly, childish, unsophisticated, as if i have mud on my shoes.

so please pardon me if i have misunderstood entirely.

however,

i am often accused of being a hard person to know, that i am mysterious and keep my cards very close to the chest.

but sometimes, i do lay myself bare, i do crack a smile or unwrap my bandages long enough to show my scars (i am made up of only scars, i suspect; resilient, but with stories to tell), and it feels really good.

and then, it comes back to cut me new wounds. sometimes, it knocks my smile right off my face.

the worst part is the small voice, my voice, the one that no one ever hears, in the back of my head while i'm in the mirror tending to my new bruises and wrapping up the fresh hurts that says : i told you so. you know better. stop giving yourself away.

so, i don't know if it's worth it. it may be a pointless question because i seem to be unable to stop myself.

but i just wanted you to know, your entry was beautiful. i'd like to write it across a map and put it on my wall.

to remind myself.

with deeply felt regards,

jessica

(central-red.dland.com)