2002-05-25 & 3:31 a.m. : severed lips

it's raining outside,

and i went out there, got my feet wet and cold.

i thought about how my geography's all different now

and i don't really know what's around me.

i watched the rain through factory lights

and saw it slide down car windows

and thought about how much of who i am is in limbo right now.

small things, cigarettes, beer, laughing at movies, pulling my sweater on, feeling how the sleeves hit my wrists just right

this is what i can focus on now.

i thought about the maps i have to put up on my wall, learn the new freeways and the states that surround on all sides

no more ocean, and all nearby "beaches" aren't really beaches at all.

but the sky, in its large and bright nothing, i just can't get over it.

so i thought about the sky, and my new life, and what to write on a postcard to a stranger.

then i flicked my cigarette in the grass, rubbed the bottoms of my wet feet on my pant legs and came in.

it took me 5 tries to get the door to close, but when it finally took, it was the perfect sound.