2001-08-12 & 8:52 p.m. : shout outs, cali style

so, i feel wildy accomplished right now.

i installed a new dsl modem WITH ethernet card all by myself.

this may be nothing to you techie people, but to me, who is deathly afraid of the inside of my computer, it was a very big deal.

but, i really couldn't have done it without the help of a few people, so i need to give my shout outs now:

to the various aol support people i talked to throughout the day: thanks so much for not listening and having to be told 3458325 times in as many ways that your fucking equipment sucks. and that it made it so that though i could get online, i could not listen to anything. thanks bros, i didn't want dsl to get mp3s or anything.

to james, technician for westell: big ups to you for being a dick and not telling me the small thing that i needed to do to get my soundcard working, and for recommending that i buy more equipment.

to lauren: thanks for not hating me for not acting like a best friend when i should have. i am disappointed in myself.

to francois: thank you, mon cheri, for cheering me up when i was so frustrated i wanted to cry. and for encouraging violence, which, as we all know, is the answer. le kiss le kiss.

to abigail: thanks for being so cool that you took the blender and all the fixings for daquaris into your room and making them there because i said i didn't want to clean the blender in exchange for a daquari. even though you were going to make them anyway. even though i said i would clean other things. way to be so very abigail, dood. way to be.

and finally, to my hero, to the one who is the wind beneath my wings:

to luku: thank you so much for showing me how to fix it so that i can have both music AND a hot and sexy broadband connection. my heart is yours, eternally.

so i'm back, i'm bad, i have a highspeed connection.

i am beaming.

oh! final shout out goes to tim, who spent a long time talking to me last night, even though i got kicked off about 1,659 times in the process. that's an exact number, by the way.

he has the patience of the saint. and the sleeping patterns of an insomniac. i heart that boy.