2001-12-05 & 1:50 p.m. : a smooth lake, a reflection, a cool drink of water.

there's a lot going on behind my eyes today. i am working hard, but there is an impenetrable wall up between myself and everything around me. i am counting down the minutes until i can be in the safety of my car and on my way home. even though there is a ton of things i should be doing right now, i am ignoring them for a swipe at calming my stomach and easing the tension in my neck muscles. i have been clenching my teeth since i went to sleep last night and i woke up with the blasting white pain of stress covering me like a taut plastic wrap, pulled around me to suffocate and paralyze.

my shower was cold, the rain is pouring down. my brother crawled into bed with me after he got dressed, as he is doing every morning when i drive him to work, and i can't tell you how terrible it feels, like i am being invaded or slapped awake.

it's not as if he even touches me when he slides under the covers. but i can feel him in my space and it's my last few minutes before i have to get up to shower.

you don't know how angry i get in those first few moments, and i know it's entirely irrational. it's not as if i would tell him to go lay on the couch where it is cold and there are no thick blankets and comforters and soft pillows to soothe him while i take a shower.

i mean, it makes sense he would want to be in my bed than out there.

but it's driving me crazy.

i wish i were of better temperament. i wish i could keep a calm about me all the time, be unaffected.

i act childishly and selfishly, i over-react and am demanding.

i yearn to be a smooth lake, a reflection, a cool drink of water, rather than this turned upside-down, twisting, unsettled, burning hot feverish thing that i am inside.

i was thinking, last night, of the last time i felt any kind of real quiet inside me, and when it came to me i was so unbelievably sad at its memory and its cause that i closed up completely, like setting a lid on a box.




a smooth lake, a reflection, a cool drink of water.




i repeat this to myself over and over, a mantra; i am trying.





l� continue beaucoup derri�re mes yeux aujourd'hui. je travaille dur, mais il y a un mur imp�n�trable vers le haut entre me et tout autour de moi. je compte en bas des minutes jusqu'� moi puis �tre dans la s�ret� de ma voiture et sur mon chemin � la maison. quoiqu'il y ait une tonne de choses que je devrais faire en ce moment, je les ignore pour un grand coup � calmer mon estomac et � soulager la tension dans des mes muscles de cou. j'avais serr� mes dents depuis que je suis all� dormir la nuit pass�e et je m'ai r�veill� avec la douleur blanche soufflante de la b�che d'effort comme une enveloppe en plastique tendue, tir�e autour de moi pour suffoquer et paralyser.

ma douche �tait froide, la pluie verse vers le bas. mon fr�re a ramp� dans le lit avec moi apr�s qu'il ait obtenu habill�, comme il fait chaque matin o� je le conduis au travail, et je ne puis pas vous dire � quel point il terrible se sent, comme je suis envahi ou �veill� gifl�.

il n'est pas comme si il me touche m�me quand il glisse sous les couvertures. mais je puis me sentir qu'il dans le mon espace et lui est mes derni�res minutes avant que je doive me lever � la douche.

vous ne savez pas je f�ch� obtiens dans ces moments premiers, et je sais qu'elle est enti�rement irrationnelle. elle n'est pas comme si je lui dirais d'aller configuration sur le divan o� il fait froid et il n'y a aucun couverture et comforters �pais et oreiller mol au sooth il tandis que je prends une douche.

je veux dire, il se comprend qu'il voudrait �tre dans mon lit que dehors l�.

mais il me conduit fou.

je souhaite que j'aie �t� d'un meilleur temperament. je souhaite que je pourrais garder un calme au sujet de moi toute l'heure, sois inchang�.

j'agis na�vement et selfishly, j'au-dessus-r�agis et exiger de AM.

j'aspire � �tre un lac lisse, une r�flexion, une boisson fra�che de l'eau, plut�t que ce tourn� � l'envers, tordant, chose f�brile chaude non r�gl�e et br�lante que je suis � l'int�rieur.

je pensais, la nuit pass�e, de la derni�re fois j'ai senti n'importe quel genre de vrai quiet � l'int�rieur de moi, et quand il est venu � moi j'�tais tellement incroyablement triste � sa m�moire et � sa cause que je me sois ferm� vers le haut compl�tement, comme placer un couvercle sur une bo�te.




un lac lisse, une r�flexion, une boisson fra�che de l'eau.




je r�p�te ceci � me � plusieurs reprises, un mantra; j'essaye.