2002-10-13 & 4:46 p.m. : the line from a to be

this is the weekend of the all night think

and talking to people i haven't met

and more dreams of maps, my sleeping mind is setting me up for the long lonely highway across wyoming to seattle.

today i talked to marcel, whom i love with all my heart. when we met we fell into friendship easy and smooth, fast and hard. he is one of the few people i've met that doesn't need the explanation to know how i feel, but likes to talk through the explanation anyway. a kind of setting figures against each other to see where the lines meet and where they stretch apart to make a new figure. he's brilliant and sweet, is without irony and makes me laugh with my whole body. he doesn't understand sarcasm and admits if freely and when i understood this is when i fell in (friendship) love with him. to know someone so honest that demands the same of you is refreshing and exciting and feels just right.

so i am sitting here feeling thankful for my friends, all of them--the ones from home, the ones i've yet to meet, even the ones that have disappeared without a trace. the ones who are generous enough to listen when i share my heart and the ones that are brave enough to share their own.

my friends help me be brave and don't mind the scars on my scraped knees from falling down.

they are the bright lights in my night sky; they are the constellations which form the skymap that brings me home.