2002-04-27 & 10:13 p.m. : to have a time.

today i brought my old computer over to the nebula king's house so that he could set me up with my new computer and we could hang out, but it turns out he wanted to practice breakdancing, so i left with the promise that my new set up would be ready for me at noon tomorrow.

with the whole day ahead of me and with no computer to play around on, i decided i was going to have a day.

so i drove out to alameda, the sun bright, my voice loud as i sang all my favorites and headed my way to my girl's bar.

man i had a great time. i talked to strangers while looking at them in the eye. i watched a babyfaced boy cheat at pool. i drank margaritas and bloody maries and coca-cola by the gallon. i watched niki work her patrons like a pro and i slipped dollar after dollar into the jukebox, putting on all my favorites, smiling and waving at the people as they walked by the tall windows.

a man from kenya gave me a carved egg. another fidgeted and stammered, wearing sunglasses and talking out the sides of his mouth.

i stayed until evening and made my way back home for some time alone with my sister, good chinese food, adn passing out on the couch, stuart curled up on my feet.

my brother's downstairs, wanting company while he paints, and though itold him my day has wiped me out, i am going down there to have a time.

hopefully i will update tomorrow with tales of how my new computer makes me cruise myself uncontrallably.

when i told niki about my new life, she came around the bar clapping, gave me an honest hug and told me she loved me.