2002-08-28 & 1:50 p.m. : please someone, help me listen to something other than rufus wainwright. and georgette is making me listen to kenny g all day. seriously, my life is turning into tragedy.

a thing that's pretty cool about my work is that there is almost a constant flow of free foodstuffs floating around.

i am not a person who is willing to wake up early enough for breakfast, so it's nice to know that when my stomach is empty and growling i can lazily walk up and down the aisles on my break, able to score at least 15 types of candy in candy dishes sitting on people's desk. that's on a bad day. on a good day people bring in croissants, donuts (grody! but free) chips and the like for us to snack on between calls. if not it's almost always someone's birthday it seems and there is cake being passed around on their behalf. for instance, this morning it was m's bday and there was a huge delicious cake being cut up when i walked in.

the frosting wasn't even gross, which is something of a miracle.

today was a big potluck day, too, and in addition to the cookies that i brought in courtesy of my lovely invisible ink's tireless efforts, there was homemade pizza (yum!), this creamcheese vegetable pizza thing (grodes!), about 1234531 kinds of chips, pickles (radical!), black olives (radical bikers!), and like 60 different salads.

60. at least two of them were pea salad.

PEA SALAD PEOPLE!

CAN YOU THINK OF A GROSSER THING?

that's like peas, so gross, and mayonaise, oh my god blech, and SO MANY OTHER GROSS THINGS!!!

oh jesus, i couldn't even really look at them, because i am stuck at mental age 7 where if people are eating something you think is gross you must tell them that, in fact, what they are eating is gross.

also, that dessert salad with the mashed up reeses and the buttermilk pudding and mandarin oranges is nasty too. i picked out the oranges and left the rest on my plate.

mostly though, i am thankful that someone brought in cut honeydew and cut cantaloupe. it reminds me of home and it's one of my favorite snacks.

i'm thankful for my friends because if they didn't sooth me at night i'd have so much trouble sleeping. the stress of the last month is wearing me down.

thank god i am getting paid tomorrow, i haven't gone to the grocery in like two weeks.

and more importantly, i don't think i'll be able to find sake in the entire state of iowa.

my life is turning into tragedy.

i can deal with that.

but pea salad! sweet jesus.