2001-09-11 & 8:11 p.m. : the day the twin towers fell (part 2)

the sound of the radio is making me dizzy now

and making my brother crazy

so we put on music

and my brother is on the phone with my father, taking inventory of all our family on the east coast

and in our small union town, with its refinery, and nearby military, no one seemed any different at the grocery

and i think the checkout guy is going to a party tonight, judging by the conversation he was having with his friend while he rang us out

and i haven't talked to snail today and i hope she is with her boyfriend, though i am certain she's not travelling anywhere, so i suppose for the time being it doesn't matter

and my world is so small, i don't even have television to widen it up anymore

so none of this is making any sense

and i can't get my head around it

and for some reason, this makes me feel like i am not alive, like somehow this morning, the first news of this being a one line story on yahoo because the news was so new: world trade center collapsed, made something in my head turn off

and who would have thought that the ny skyline would have changed in my lifetime

and the image of the congress singing we-are-the-world style made me more confused than anything

and the look of fear on the president's face at his first briefing this morning made my blood run cold

and i can't believe i have to go sit in the cube tomorrow

the whole world falling apart around our ears

it's just too big for me to understand