2002-09-02 & 7:34 p.m. : unstuck

something that's strange about being here and living here is time.

i never think of the time in terms of what time it is here right now. for instance, if it's 7pm, i first think that it's 8pm on the east coast (because, i think, television programming starts an hour earlier here, so prime time begins at 7pm, which is weird.) and then i think that it's 5pm on the west coast because everyone i love there and it's still too early to think they may call or be home for me to call.

the time here only is important to me in so far as i am late or early for an appointment or obligation. when i am on my way to work and the clock reads 910am, i know i will make it in my chair on time, given that parking is not too horrendous. but when i look at the clock what i am really thinking is, "if i were on the east coast i will have been at work for forty minutes already" and then "if i were on the west coast, i would still be in bed dreaming."

i know i have a book somwhere in my boxes which is a collection of essays on time. i bought it for a dollar that time when dr daurio let me go with her to an apa convention.

when i am sitting out of time i think of that book and also of billy pilgrim. say what you will about vonnegut, but i don't think i have worn a book through as much as i have slaughterhouse five. it was the first book i carried with me to pass time when waiting in waiting rooms and the first i didn't grab for the sake of showing "look who i'm reading" when i was in high school.

"high fidelity," the song not the movie, is so good it makes my fingers hurt.

also, it's strange to me that i find the american flag that waves on the top of the quaker oats factory comforting.

billy pilgrim and i are unstuck from time.